DJ J-Live – Do The Knowledge Vol. 1 (The Late Pass)

It’s easy to forget that the multi talented J-Live is a skilled DJ as well as rapping and producing on all of his own releases. The picture above is actually from The Source when he was identified in the famous Unsigned Hype column as one to watch way back in 1995.

He has put together a mix of recent hip hop to show all the naysayers that there is quality material coming out on a regular basis. In his own words:

Basically, I got tired of hearing a lot of people say stuff like, “there’s nothing new out” or “hip hop is wack now”. Upon hearing this I usually run down a list of names of new artists and even old artists with new albums and ask if they’ve heard of’em. Nope! These people have no idea. There’s a lot of good new hip hop. You just have to do the knowledge and keep your ears open. These are some of my favorites from 2009 alone. Enjoy!

I agree with his sentiments absolutely and often have similar conversations with people, the main difference is he actually did something about it! The mix can be downloaded from the link below in the format of your choosing, and I highly recommend doing so as soon as possible so that you too can “do the knowledge”.



  • J-Live ~ DTK Intro 01:39
  • Jay Electronica ~ Exhibit A (Transformations) 02:28
  • Skyzoo ~ Return Of The Real 02:05
  • Royce da 5’9” f / Bun B & Joel Ortiz ~ Hood Love 03:14
  • Wale ~ Mama Told Me 01:35
  • Marco Polo & Torae ~ Word Play 02:24
  • Senor Kaos ~ Automatic Classic Remix 02:30
  • Mos Def ~ Priority 01:13
  • Mr Lif & Bahamadia ~ Breathe 02:58
  • OC & AG ~ Give It Back 03:05
  • Nipsey Hussle f/ Snoop Dogg ~ The Life 02:14
  • Edo. G & Masta Ace f/ Pos ~ Good Music 02:52
  • DJ Spinna f/ Fresh Daily, P.Casso & Homeboy Sandman ~ Get On Down 04:09
  • Tanya Morgan f/ Blu ~ Morgan Blu 02:40
  • Zion I f/ Brother Ali ~ Caged Bird Pt. 1 02:03
  • Jay Are ~ The Lee Morgan Story 02:03
  • Chali 2na f/ Elzhi of Slum Village ~ When Will I See You Again 02:46
  • Jay Z f/ Luke Steele ~ What We Talkin’ About 02:31
  • Raekwon F/ Ghostface Killah & Cappadonna ~ 10 Bricks 02:52
  • Daimond District ~ I Mean Business 02:45
  • Tiye Phoenix ~ Stop Right There 02:17
  • Method Man & Redman f/ Ready Roc & Streetlife ~ How Bout Dat 03:37
  • Living Proofe ~ Rise 02:25
  • J. Cole ~ Lights Please 02:23
  • KRS-One & Buckshot f/ Talib Kweli ~ Oh Really 02:38
  • Busta Rhymes f/ Jamie Foxx, Mary J Blige, John Legend & Common ~ Decision 06:19

~ by whosaidjazz on January 18, 2010.

One Response to “DJ J-Live – Do The Knowledge Vol. 1 (The Late Pass)”

  1. Will do!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: