DJ A-Up – Boom Brrap and more…

A few years ago someone posted on UKHH offering free copies of a mix CD they’d just together. I replied and it turned out it was DJ A-Up who was part of the team that put on the regular night C’mon Feet up in Manchester. A few days later I got a CD in the post that looked very much like the picture above, and the tracklisting as below. It was Boom Braap ably hosted by MC Kwasi.I have long since lost/broken/melted/frisbee’d the CD itself so when Kwasi blessed the Disco Shed with his presence at The Big Chill this year I felt like I should try and find out if I could get a replacement from somewhere, and he was kind of enough to link me with Mr A-Up.

Go to A-Up’s blog to download it or get it direct from here. As you can see from the tracklisting it largely consists of party style hip hop and reggae, particularly where the two meet and start to get confused with each other. I love it and still listen to it regularly. Check out the other mixes on his site as well, particularly the Wind Down mix, really good stuff.

01. Brraptro
02. Krs One & Shabba Ranks – The Jam
03. Funkmaster Flex – Six Million Ways to Die
04. Kenny Dope – Don Dada
05. Kenny Dope – Supercat
06. Supercat – Ghetto Red Hot [Hip Hop Mix]
07. Mad Lion – Shoot to Kill
08. Cypress Hill – Insane in the Brain
09. Cutty Ranks – Insane in the Brain [Ragga Remix]
10. Ramson Badbonez – Children’s Stroy ’06
11. Capleton – Tour [Remix]
12. Crooklyn Clan – Wanna Jump
13. Kriss Kross – Jump [Supercat Remix]
14. Snow ft. MC Shan – Informer
15. Skibadee – Tika Toc
16. Nextmen ft. Dynamite MC – Blood & Fire
17. Fallacy – My Show’s Bashy [DJ A-UP Mash-Up]
18. Rodney P – The Nice Up
19. Tek – #1 Sound
20. Wordsmith & Genesis Elijah – Trading Bars
21. Punchline Records – World A Jamrock
22. Klashnekoff – Welcome to Jamrock Dub Freestyle
23. Kyza – Out in the Streets
24. Myddelman & Punchline Records – Creezy Hype
25. Coldcut ft. Roots Manuva – Truskool [Remix]
26. DJ A-UP – LL Coolie J
27. Sean Paul – Feel Alright
28. Jimmy Lindsay – Easy


~ by whosaidjazz on September 2, 2010.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: